Landscape Architects Announce 2010 Awards Call for Entries

Outstanding juries named for professional and student awards progra m

Washington, D.C.—November 30, 2009 —
The American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) has announced the 2010 Awards call for entries. Award recipients receive featured coverage in Landscape Architecture and Garden Design magazines and in many other design and construction industry and general-interest media. Award recipients, their clients and advisers will be honored at the awards presentation ceremony during the ASLA Annual Meeting and EXPO in Washington , D.C. , September 10-13, 2010. The award-winning projects will be featured in a video presentation at the ceremony and on the awards website following the event. For more information, visit

The prestige of the ASLA awards program relies on the high-c aliber juries that are convened each year to review submissions. Members of the professional awards jury convening in March 2010 include:

  • Mario Nievera, ASLA, Mario Nievera Design Inc., Palm Beach , Florida , and New York city jury chair
  • José Almiñana, ASLA, Andropogon Associates, Philadelphia
  • Herbert Dreiseitl, International ASLA, Atelier Dreiseitl, Überlingen, Deutschland
  • Elizabeth Mossop, ASLA, Louisiana State University and Spakman, Mossop + Michaels, Baton Rouge , Louisiana
  • Shannon Nichol, ASLA, Gustafson Guthrie Nichol Ltd, Seattle
  • Doug Reed, FASLA, Reed Hilderbrand Associates Inc., Watertown , Massachusetts
  • John Reynolds, FASLA, National Park Service Retired, Crozet , Virginia
  • Katie Tamony, Editor-in-Chief, Sunset Magazine, Menlo Park , California
  • David J. Yocca, ASLA, Conservation Design Forum, Elmhurst , Illinois , and Ann Arbor , Michigan
  • Bill Marken, Honorary ASLA, representing Garden Design, will join the jury for selection in Residential Design
  • William H. Tishler, FASLA, representing the National Trust for Historic Preservation, will join the jury for selection of the Landmark Award
Members of the student awards jury convening in June 2010 include:
  • Mark Rios, FASLA, Rios Clementi Hale Studios, Los Angeles , jury chair
  • Patrick Caughey, FASLA, Wimmer Yamada and Caughey, San Diego
  • George W. Curry, FASLA, State University of New York , Syracuse , New York
  • Tom Leader, ASLA, Tom Leader Studio, Berkeley , California
  • Scott Mehaffey, FASLA, Office of the Mayor, Chicago
  • Janet Rosenberg, ASLA, Janet Rosenberg and Associates Inc., Toronto
  • Stephen Stimson, FASLA, Stephen Stimson Associates, Falmouth , Massachusetts
  • Christine Ten Eyck, FASLA, Ten Eyck Landscape Architects Inc., Austin , Texas
  • Michael Vergason, FASLA, Michael Vergason Landscape Architects Ltd., Alexandria , Virginia .
The ASLA awards program features six categories: General Design; Residential Design, cosponsored by Garden Design magazine; Analysis and Planning; Research, cosponsored by the Council of Educators in Landscape Architecture and Landscape Journal; Communications; and the Landmark Award, cosponsored by the National Trust for Historic Preservation. The student awards program also features the Student Community Service Award and Student Collaboration categories.

Entry forms and payment must be received by:
  • Friday, February 12, 2010, for Professional Awards
  • Friday, May 14, 2010, for Student Awards
Submission binders must be received by:
  • Friday, February 26, 2010, for Professional Awards
  • Friday, May 28, 2010, for Student Awards
About ASLA

Founded in 1899, ASLA is the national professional association for landscape architects, representing 17,000 members in 48 professional chapters and 68 student chapters. The Society's mission is to lead, to educate, and to participate in the careful stewardship, wise planning, and artful design of our cultural and natural environments. Members of the Society use their “ ASLA ” suffix after their names to denote membership and their commitment to the highest ethical standards of the profession. Learn more about landscape architecture online at


Jim Lapides
American Society of Landscape Architects
E-mail: Email Contact


Review Article Be the first to review this article
IMTS 2018 Register Now>>

Featured Video
GIS Specialist for Metro Wastewater Reclamation District at Denver, Colorado
Upcoming Events
34th Annual Coordinate Metrology Society Conference 2018 at Grand Sierra Resort, 2500 East Second Street Meeting & Covention Center Reno NV - Jul 23 - 27, 2018
Design of Experiments (DOE) for Process Development and Validation (NTZ) 2018 at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego Downtown 1646 Front St San Diego CA - Aug 2 - 3, 2018
FARO Measure And Inspect 2018 at Maple Hotel Bangkok Thailand - Aug 8, 2018
COMSOL Conference 2018 Bangalore at ITC Gardenia 1, Residency Road, Shanthala Nagar, Ashok Nagar, Bengaluru, Karnataka India - Aug 9 - 10, 2018
Kenesto: 30 day trial

Internet Business Systems © 2018 Internet Business Systems, Inc.
25 North 14th Steet, Suite 710, San Jose, CA 95112
+1 (408) 882-6554 — Contact Us, or visit our other sites:
AECCafe - Architectural Design and Engineering EDACafe - Electronic Design Automation GISCafe - Geographical Information Services TechJobsCafe - Technical Jobs and Resumes ShareCG - Share Computer Graphic (CG) Animation, 3D Art and 3D Models
  Privacy PolicyAdvertise